• Led by Martine Hébert, Ph.D., the laboratory’s research program focuses on child sexual abuse and adolescent dating violence. The aim of our studies is to identify protective factors on individual, familial, social and community levels that contribute in reducing the impacts of victimization. Our various projects also aim to promote the implementation of evidence-based interventions and prevention programs in order to support the optimal development of children and youth.

  • News

    ÉVISSA Research Capsule (#38)

    A new ÉVISSA Research capsule is available ! The capsule discusses about desorganized attachment, emotion dysregulation and dissociation in preschoolers victims of sexual abuse. To learn more, click here.

    Discover our research professional – Manon

    Manon Robichaud holds an undergraduate degree in psychology, a certificate in human sexuality and a master’s degree in sexology. Her passion for research, mainly in terms of database management, statistical analysis, and the creation and management of online questionnaires (via Qualtrics), has allowed her to support researchers and students in their research projects for the […]

    Doctoral Thesis Defense – Cyndi

    Congratulations to Cyndi Boisjoli that defended her doctoral thesis with success ! As part of her research project, Cyndi looked at the problems of alexythmy in children who have been sexually abused. Her thesis is entitled: “Alexithymie et problèmes de comportement chez les enfants d’âge scolaire victimes d’agression sexuelle“ Good job !

    Postal Card (#15)

    Promoting better recognition of different emotions, providing emotional support and sustaining the development of emotion regulation skills are efficient strategies of intervention to help children with a history of trauma. To learn more, click here.

    Research Paper – Psychology of Violence

    A research paper written by Marie-Pier Petit, Martin Blais and Martine Hébert, director of the laboratory, was published in the journal Psychology of Violence. The article is entitled “Prevalence, co-occurrence, and recurrence of teen dating violence across dimensions of sexual orientation: A longitudinal study using a representative sample of adolescents”. The purpose of the study […]

    ResilienceCon 2021 – Poster

    At the ResilienceCon 2021 conference in mid-April, Arianne Jean-Thorn, a doctoral student in psychology, presented a scientific poster entitled “Heterogenous profiles of adaptation in youth during COVID-19 pandemic in Quebec”. The results show the diverse profiles of adaptation in youth during the pandemic. To view the poster, cliquer ici.

    Postal Card (#14)

    Sleep problems should be regularly addressed during the initial assessment so that they can be dealt with quickly, if there are any. For more information, click here.

    Research Paper – Journal Child and Youth Services Review

    A research paper written by Rachel Langevin, Martine Hébert, Director of the laboratory, and Sarah Cabecinha-Alatia, was published in the journal Child and Youth Services Review. The paper is entitled ‘’Multilevel factors associated with the intergenerational continuity of child sexual abuse’’. The results outline the risk and protective factors associated with the intergenerational continuity of […]

    Discover our students – Doctorate in psychology

    Kevin holds a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. He is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in psychology at the Université du Québec à Montrél, under the supervision of Mara Brendgen, Ph.D. and Martine Hébert, Ph.D., director of the laboratory. As part of his doctoral thesis, Kevin is investigating the […]

    Discover our students – Doctorate in psychology

    Valérie completed a bachelor’s degree in psychology, honors profile, at the Université de Montréal. She is currently doing a doctorate in psychology at the Université du Québec à Montréal, under the supervision of Martine Hébert, Ph.D., director of the laboratory. For her doctoral thesis, Valerie is investigating violence in adolescent romantic relationships. More specifically, she […]

• Les travaux du laboratoire de recherche dirigé par Martine Hébert, Ph.D., portent sur l’agression sexuelle des enfants et la violence dans les relations amoureuses des jeunes. Ces travaux visent à identifier les différents facteurs de protection qui peuvent agir sur les plans individuel, familial, social et communautaire pour réduire les impacts de la victimisation. Les différents projets visent aussi à promouvoir l’implantation de pratiques d’intervention exemplaires afin de favoriser le développement optimal des jeunes et de programmes de prévention efficaces pour enrayer la violence.

  • Nouvelles

    Capsule ÉVISSA (#38)

    Nouvelle Capsule ÉVISSA disponible ! La capsule traite d’attachement désorganisé, des déficits de régulation des émotions et de dissociation chez des enfants d’âge scolaire victimes d’agression sexuelle. Pour en apprendre davantage, c’est ici.

    Découvrez nos professionnelles de recherche – Manon

    Manon Robichaud détient un diplôme de 1er cycle en psychologie, un certificat en sexualité humaine ainsi qu’une maîtrise en sexologie. Sa passion pour la recherche, principalement au niveau de la gestion des banques de données, de l’analyse statistique, de la création et gestion de questionnaires en ligne (via Qualtrics), lui permet depuis 20 ans déjà […]

    Soutenance de thèse Doctorale – Cyndi Boisjoli

    Toutes nos félicitations à Cyndi Boisjoli qui a soutenu sa thèse doctorale avec brio ! Dans le cadre de son projet de recherche, Cyndi s’est penchée sur les problèmes d’alexythimie chez les enfants victimes d’agression sexuelle. Sa thèse a pour titre : « Alexithymie et problèmes de comportement chez les enfants d’âge scolaire victimes d’agression sexuelle« […]

    Carte Postale (#15)

    Favoriser une meilleure reconnaissance des émotions, fournir un soutien émotionnel et aider à réguler les émotions sont des pistes d’intervention efficaces pour venir en aide aux enfants ayant un historique de trauma. Pour de plus amples informations, cliquer ici.

    Article – Psychology of Violence

    Un article rédigé par Marie-Pier Petit, Martin Blais et Martine Hébert, directrice du laboratoire, est paru dans la revue Psychology of Violence. L’article s’intitule “Prevalence, co-occurrence, and recurrence of teen dating violence across dimensions of sexual orientation: A longitudinal study using a representative sample of adolescents’’ L’étude avait pour but de documenter les prévalence, co-occurrence […]

    Congrès ResilienceCon – Affiche Étudiante

    Lors du Congrès de ResilienceCon 2021, ayant eu lieu à la mi-avril, Arianne Jean-Thorn, étudiante au doctorat en psychologie, a présenté une affiche scientifique intitulée « Heterogenous profiles of adaptation in youth during COVID-19 pandemic in Quebec ». Les résultats font état des divers profils d’adaptation chez les jeunes pendant la pandémie. Pour consulter l’affiche, cliquer ici.

    Carte Postale (#14)

    Les problèmes de sommeil devraient être régulièrement abordés lors de l’évaluation initiale afin de pouvoir les traiter rapidement, s’il y en a. Pour plus d’informations, cliquer ici.

    Article – Child and Youth Services Review

    Un article rédigé par Rachel Langevin, Martine Hébert, directrice du laboratoire, et Sarah Cabecinha-Alatia, est paru dans la revue Child and Youth Services Review. L’article s’intitule ‘’Multilevel factors associated with the intergenerational continuity of child sexual abuse’’. Les résultats font état des facteurs de risque et de protection associés à la continuité intergénérationnelle de l’agression […]

    Découvrez nos étudiant.es – Doctorat en psychologie

    Kevin détient un baccalauréat en psychologie à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Il effectue présentement un doctorat en psychologie, profil recherche-intervention, à l’Université du Québec à Montrél, sous la supervision de Mara Brendgen, Ph.D. et Martine Hébert, Ph.D, directrice du laboratoire. Dans le cadre de sa thèse doctorale, Kevin s’intéresse aux thématiques de victimisation par […]

    Découvrez nos étudiant.es – Doctorat en psychologie

    Valérie a réalisé un baccalauréat en psychologie, profil honors, à l’Université de Montréal. Elle effectue présentement un doctorat en psychologie, profil recherche-intervention, à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, sous la direction de Martine Hébert, Ph.D, directrice du laboratoire. Pour sa thèse doctorale, Valérie s’intéresse à la violence dans les relations amoureuses à l’adolescence. Plus précisément, […]